top of page

Ham Radio 2.0, Huntsville, and v6.9 Dev


Ham Radio 2.0, Huntsville, and v6.9 Dev

This article thanks to John VK3JCO

 

Mark Your Calendars Ham Radio Deluxe on Ham Radio 2.0 YouTube Live (7-Aug 0000z) HRD Software CEO Dr. Michael Carper (WA9PIE) will be live with Jason (KC5HWB) on his popular YouTube podcast - Ham Radio 2.0. Topics of conversation will include an overview of Ham Radio Deluxe, recent additions in v6.8, the status of 6.9 development, and perspectives on the future of Ham Radio Deluxe. Join the event for live Q&A. YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@HamRadio2 Date & Time (UTC): 7-Aug 2023 @ 0000z United States: Aug. 6, 2023, at 8 pm ET, 7 pm CT, 6 pm MT, 5 pm PT Huntsville Hamfest (August 19-20, 2023) Ham Radio Deluxe is excited to be attending the Huntsville Hamfest this year. We'll be in the booth between DX Engineering and FlexRadio. See Mike (WA9PIE) and Tammy (KB9YHU) in the booth if you plan to attend. They're looking forward to seeing you there. Status of Version 6.9 Development Development on the next release of Ham Radio Deluxe is ongoing. Release - version 6.9 - seeks to accomplish several things:

  • Eliminate Microsoft Access as a supported database; replace it with SQLite

  • Eliminate the majority of the outstanding Logbook defects (including catching up to the current ADIF standards)

  • Implement many customer-requested enhancements in Logbook (POTA, SOTA, callsign lookup images, etc.)

  • Ability to run as a 64-bit application on 64-bit operating systems

  • Lay the foundation for a subsequent release of Ham Radio Deluxe that is multi-platform (i.e., can run on Mac OS and potentially Linux)

These changes are significant, and the work involved is substantial, BUT we will have a tremendously better and more supportable product when it's complete. All this is a prerequisite to the desired capabilities of version 7 later in the roadmap. HRD Software's owner - Mike, WA9PIE - checks in with the developers daily for progress updates. It's hard to predict when this work will complete, but all of our resources (people and funding) are going toward this effort. (Editorial Note: Even Dr. Carper is not thrilled with how long this release has taken. But the outcomes align with the goals above and are worth the effort.) A broader announcement will be made when the software is moved to the beta team. We appreciate your patience. Thank you es 73 de Mike, WA9PIE HRD Software, LLC We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. The Ham Radio Deluxe Team... HRD Software, LLC Also visit our sites at: www.HamRadioDeluxe.com Support for Software Maintenance & Support Customers Peer Support Forums YouTube Channel Online User Manual HRD Software, LLC 4261 E University Dr Ste 30-183 Prosper, TX 75078-9152



33 views0 comments
bottom of page